YAC Past Winners

The Young Artist Competition - 2011 Winners

The Peter E. Tannenwald Awards, named in memory of one the Young Artist Competition's foremost supporters, consist of First prize, now $1000 and a solo appearance with either the Philharmonic Orchestra or the Chorale during the following concert season, and Second and Third Prizes of $650 and $350 respectively.

The Leonard D. Wood Awards, named in honor of Maestro Wood who conducted the Orchestra for many years, are intended to reward excellence in our younger contestants and to encourage them to continue to compete. It is awarded to a contestant who is 18 years of age or younger. The Wood Awards are $500 for First Place, $350 for Second Place and $150 for Third Place.

The Penelope Davis Hart Honorable Mentions are awarded at the discretion of the judges.

The 2011 competition took place on April 23rd. The prize winners in the overall competition are:

Peter E.Tannenwald Awards

Inesa Gegprifti

Inesa Gegprifti

2nd Place: $650 AI-YING CHIU, piano

3rd Place TIE: (2 prizes of $350 each)
STEVE KIM, piano

Leonard D. Wood Awards

Ilana Zaks

Ilana Zaks

2nd Place: $350 ZLATOMIR FUNG (12), cello

3rd Place TIE (2 prizes of $150 each):
JACLYN FRESHMAN (17), violin
ALEX KINMOUTH (17), oboe / B. Kim (16), violin - double concerto